Belated post, but hopefully worth it!

I’ve been meaning to post this article from The New York Times on my blog for a few weeks now.  It was published in the Times on Jan. 9, and I promptly emailed it to myself with the subject line: “next blog post.”  Apparently my definition of “next” is flexible…but here it is regardless.  It’s not time-sensitive material, so I’m hoping you’ll still appreciate it.  Some experts talk about how to live life to the fullest, with no regrets.  Who are these experts, you ask?  Over 1,000 older Americans from different economic, educational, and occupational backgrounds surveyed in a Cornell University study, who have more than enough life experience between them to give us all a few tips.  Here’s my favorite:

A 75-year-old man said, “You are not responsible for all the things that happen to you, but you are completely in control of your attitude and your reactions to them.” An 84-year-old said, “Adopt a policy of being joyful.” (The New York Times, 1/9/2012)

Comment and let me know your favorites!

3 Comments

Filed under Future

3 responses to “Belated post, but hopefully worth it!

  1. Azure

    I was not able to get to the article through your link, but I would really like to read it. What is the title of the article? Maybe I can search for it that way… Thanks!

  2. Azure

    Thanks, Maura. I was glad to hear that they agreed travel was important, because that is where my money goes!

    I *love* reading these sorts of things, and in the past I have relied heavily on conventional wisdom to make decisions (it’s there for a reason, right? It would be foolish and arrogant to think I know better, or that I am the exception to the rule…)

    But to add my own “wisdom”, I finally realized that everyone is a snowflake, and there are always outliers. So if conventional wisdom says X (ex. “Quitters never win, and winners never quit.”) you still need to look at yourself, your unique personality, and your unique situation, and make an individual judgement call about what works for YOU. Even if 99% of the people have been successful one way, you may be the 1%. Consider the advice, but more heavily examine yourself. Life isn’t as straightforward as following logical advice, unfortunately. I guess that’s how life keeps us on our toes!

Leave a Reply

