Flashback Friday

I thought I’d take a break from the football-related Flashback Friday posts this week (but we still better beat Purdue tomorrow–Go Irish! Beat Boilers!).

But I’m actually not going to stray too far from the world of athletics.  This was a big week back on campus, as the Notre Dame hockey team took the ice in the brand-new, state-of-the-art, multi-million dollar Compton Family Ice Arena for the first time.

Now, as a proud member of the Notre Dame Figure Skating team, my allegiance still lies with them, rather than the hockey team (Sorry…it’s a natural rivalry.).  But I still wanted to post this video, because the new arena looks awesome.

It’s so awesome, in fact, that Olympic Figure Skating Gold Medalist Brian Boitano is coming to South Bend to present the Brian Boitano Skating Spectacular.  And the event will feature two of my personal favorite performers:

Ryan Bradley, 2011 U.S. Men's Figure Skating Champion

AND

These beauties, the University of Notre Dame Synchronized Skating Team!

sjkhghurht

Oops, sorry about that, I couldn’t type because I was seeing red, with jealousy, that my fabulous former team gets to skate with Brian Boitano!  I continue to wonder why I didn’t just flunk all my classes and stay at ND for another year…but I’m crossing my fingers that their performance makes it into the TV broadcast that will air in December!

But all jealousy and rivalries aside, the new Compton Family Ice Arena is a great facility, for both hockey and figure skating, for both Notre Dame and the surrounding community.  Great news from ND for all ice-related sports and events.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flashback Friday, Notre Dame

Leave a Reply

