Another new endeavor…

I just signed up to take a writing class.  But not just any writing class.  A fiction writing class.  Novel writing, to be specific.

I’ve taken plenty of writing classes in my day.  They are par for the course as a journalism student, and I loved them all.  But novel writing is a little bit different.  It’s not exactly writing and reporting 101.

I have to be creative enough to craft my own story, and to share it with others.  Which kind of frightens me.  Ok, actually, it frightens me a lot.

Which is why I have to take this class.

I think that actually attempting to write a novel, which I’ve wanted to do since I was a little girl, is probably one of the scariest things I could do right now.  I’d be going out on a limb (way out on a flimsy limb…I discovered my sad attempt at historical fiction while I was cleaning out my desk this summer).  I’d be taking a risk, which is not something I generally do.  I’m too much of a planner for that.  I’d be putting myself, and my ideas, out there, at least for my fellow students in this class to read and critique.

In a nutshell, I’d be breaking away from what I’m used to, and comfortable with, to pursue something that’s always been floating around in the back of my mind.

And since it’s always been floating around in the back of my mind, I think I owe it to myself to give it a try.  No matter how far out of my comfort zone it takes me.

I’ve used this quote on the blog before, but I’m going to put it here again, because it popped into my head the second I signed up for the class.

“Life is either a great adventure or nothing.”~Helen Keller

So here’s to a new adventure.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

3 Comments

Filed under Future, Writing

3 responses to “Another new endeavor…

  1. The best way to learn how to write a novel is sheer practice. Lots and lots of words, and pages. Keep in mind that opinions on works of fiction are subjective. Listen to your inner critic the most. Have fun in the class!

  2. AJ

    Are you going to do NaNoWriMo?

  3. Hmm. That quote seems familiar 🙂

Leave a Reply

