Where is “outside the bubble?”

I’m outside the bubble.

The bubble that I speak of is the incomparable University of Notre Dame, where I spent my undergraduate years, the four most formative years of my life thus far.  But they call it a bubble because, sometimes, being on a college campus is insulating.  Students are so busy with work, classes, activities, sports, and social lives, that sometimes they don’t have time to keep up with what is going on in the world around them, outside of campus.  That’s not to say that there aren’t college students across the country with an acute awareness of what’s happening in the world, and students taking action to right wrongs and solve problems all across the world.  But college is definitely a unique period in your life.  You get four years to figure yourself out, to focus solely and completely on yourself.  So its actually pretty easy to stay in the bubble, and get caught up in your life there.

But, as my dad so wisely (and a bit unsympathetically, might I add) told me this morning, as I reminisced yet again about the good old days of my undergrad years: “College has to end sometime, Maura.”

The bubble has popped, if you will.  As much as I didn’t want it to.

I’ve been navigating the so-called “real world” for about two months since graduation, and it has been an interesting ride so far, full of the good, the bad, and the wacky.  But, because I’m not on a college campus anymore, I don’t have that supportive network of people going through similar life experience right at my fingertips (or down the hall in my dorm, I should say).  There is no one to stay up till 2 AM with me talking about life, and hopes, dreams, and plans for the future.  And its a support system that I’ve been missing.

So I decided to bring the conversation into cyberspace, because I know that there are thousands of recent grads out there doing exactly the same thing as me: trying to figure out post-grad, grown-up life, one day at a time.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where is “outside the bubble?”

  1. I remember those days. I ended up applying for grad school because I couldn’t imagine life without school.

Leave a Reply

