Inspiration

The idea for this blog first came to me last week, when I was reading an article in The Boston Globe.  The front-page story that day told a slightly depressing tale: its getting harder for recent grads to find jobs, because many people can no longer afford to retire, due to the effects of the recession and the current state of the economy.

Not exactly the news I wanted to read while sitting at my desk at my summer temp job, the one that ends in approximately a month, and doesn’t include benefits.

I’m a natural worrier, so the article got me thinking.  Mostly nervous thoughts.

But it also inspired this blog.  Obviously, navigating adult life as a recent college graduate is a little tricky, compounded by the fact that we are dealing with a poor ecomonic situation.  But I also figured that if I got nervous reading this article, hundreds of other young adults around Boston probably did too.  Which made me want to blog about my experiences, and learn about people having similar ones.  And as an aspiring writer, it seemed practical to work through my concerns with words.

So in this blog you’ll get a combination of my words, the words of journalists who write articles on topics similar to the one mentioned above, and hopefully the words of readers, sharing their experiences.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

